How to use Facebook Messenger Unsend Message feature

0
65
How to use Facebook Messenger Unsend Message feature

Facebook Messenger is one of the most used messaging apps on the internet. Messenger allows users to interact with not only messages but also emojis, GIFs, photos, stickers and whatnot, but it lacks a very common feature, which was introduced in Facebook-owned, Whatsapp this year. And as we reported earlier and expected Messenger Unsend Message feature to roll out soon, finally the Unsend feature is rolling out on Messenger for both Android and iOS platform, and here, we will be telling you how to use Facebook Messenger Unsend Message feature.

Talking about the Messenger Unsend Message feature, it will work in a similar way as we have already seen the Whatsapp Messenger, where after sending a message, the user will be able to delete that message within the time window of 10 minutes. Not only text messages, but media like photos, videos, stickers can also be deleted within the time limit. And after the time limit, the message cannot be deleted from other user’s chat.

Explaining the 10 minute limit for deleting the message in the Messenger app, Facebook’s head of Messenger Stan Chudnovsky told Techcrunch, “We looked at how the existing delete functionality works. It turns out that when people are deleting messages because it’s a mistake or they sent something they didn’t want to send, it’s under a minute. We decided to extend it to 10, but decided we didn’t need to do more.”

How to use Messenger Unsend Message feature

To try this feature out, first of all, make sure that your Messenger app is updated. Download the latest update, or simply visit the link below to update the Messenger app now.

After this, open the Messenger app and open a chat where you want to try this new Unsend Message feature. Send any random message to a chat, try this with a person who doesn’t feel irritated about it.

After sending any random message, next you need to choose the message that you want to delete from the chat. For this, simply long press on the message, which will pop-up some option on the screen.

From the options shown on the screen, you need to choose the ‘Remove for Everyone’. Selecting the option, a warning option will pop-up, which says, “ You’ll permanently remove this message for all chat members. They can see that you removed a message and still report it.” Doing this, the message will be deleted permanently and the user on another side will be informed about the deleted message.

Currently, the Messenger Unsend Feature has arrived for all users in Poland, Bolivia, Colombia, and Lithuania on Messenger for both Android and iOS platforms, but if you are not in the above-mentioned regions, you need to wait till the update rolls out globally.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here