After various games like CS: GO, Overwatch, League Of Legends, Dota 2, Fortnite, Call Of Duty and many more, now its turn for the hockey become the part of eSPorts. Due to the increase in the huge popularity of eSports, hockey is stepping into eSports first time by the National Hockey League.

National Hockey League will host its first branded eSports championship named as  2018 NHL Gaming World Championship. Its total pool prize is $100,000. Challengers will prove themselves on EA Sports’ NHL18.


First, the qualifying rounds will be held in three different regions- United States, Canad, and Europe. Qualifying rounds will follow the single-elimination online tournament. These will begin on Saturday, March 24. From each region, top 8 players will participate in round-robin tournament final on Tuesday, June 19. Final will be held at the Luxor Hotel’s ESports arena in Las Vegas.

The winner will receive a huge trophy with a big part of the prize pool and will go to the 2018 NHL awards. NHL 2018 awards date is not confirmed yet but usually, it follows the conclusion of the Stanley Cup Playoffs.


You can participate in the tournament by registering via Facelt. Facelt is handling all the administration work of the tournament and registrations are currently underway on the Facelt. Qualifying rounds will be held on both platforms i.e. PlayStation 4 and Xbox One.


You can follow all the action of the tournament live on the  NHL’s Twitch Channel.The regional stream will be televised on May 6 in Europe on Viasat, on May 11 in Canada on Sportsnet and on May 20 in the U.S. on NBCSN.

Read More

Like this story? Keep yourself updated with eminent feeds & news
Connect with us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Get in touch with us:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here